Closet Door Reveal

In my last post I discussed different options I was debating for my closet doors. Well I decided to go ahead and try the cheapest option first, chalkboard paint! Here is what I did.

First I took the doors off the hinges and laid them outside (since I knew I would be working with some pretty stinky stuff). Then I chose some leftover paint I had laying around and painted a rough boarder that I would be taping off.

I used a Costco mailer to help me keep my tape even all the way around.

Here is what it looked like when I was done. I used Frogger Tape from Home Depot which actually did pretty well with bleeding.

Then I painted 3 coats of this stuff and took my tape off about 30 minutes after I finished my last coat.

I forgot to snap a before picture in the office, but here is what they look like in the spare bedroom.

Here is the after! I like them a whole lot better than what it previously was, but I’m not sure I’m completely in love with how they go in the room. I may end up switching these up again in the near future, but for now it acts as an awesome message center.

17 Comments

Filed under Before and After, DIY Projects, Home Office

17 responses to “Closet Door Reveal

  1. Janice Cooke

    What a cool idea for doors in an office!!
    Very Creative!
    XXXOOO Mom

  2. Ana

    hehe I love baby in the corner…

  3. Kari

    OMG I love this! Awesome job fellow Az Native! 🙂

  4. Maureen

    Beautiful work. Thanks for the step-by-step pics and tips. My daughter and I may tackle this in her new bedroom.

  5. Maureen

    One more question…what did you do with the little gold “handles” that are embedded in the door? We have the exact same doors and can’t figure out how you “hid” them.

    • In the pic I actually photoshopped them out, ONLY because I had to go to the store to get a foam brush to get in there. We were missing one handle from this closet so I took them both out and it was so rough (it looked like wood chips in there) that a paint brush didn’t cover them well. My plan was to just photoshop color in the handles but it proved too difficult for my beginner skills. However I will say I painted them yesterday and they pretty much blend right in! I didn’t mean to deceive you. 🙂

      • Maureen

        Not at all! I figured that you had a way to cleverly cover them up!! Did you end up painting the gold handles with the the foam brush and chalkboard paint or did you leave the gold handles out and paint the recessed “hole” as a new “handle”?

      • I ended up taking out the gold handles and using the foam brush to paint the recessed “hole” as new handles. I was actually missing one of the gold handles so I had no other choice, but it ended up working really well!

      • Maureen

        Thanks for the reply…that’s what we will try. I’ll post to Pinterest! 🙂

  6. Pingback: Lips & Mustache Party | littlehousebigplans

  7. Everyone loves what you guys are up too.
    This kind of clever work and coverage! Keep up the superb works guys I’ve incorporated you guys to blogroll.

  8. Greetings! Very helpful advice in this particular article!
    It’s the little changes that will make the greatest changes.
    Thanks a lot for sharing!

  9. My partner and I stumbled over here from a different web address
    and thought I should check things out. I like what I see so now
    i’m following you. Look forward to exploring your web page repeatedly.

Leave a Reply

